- The EVT Cost Picture at a Glance
- The Exam Fee: US$205 vs. US$200
- What the Exam Fee Actually Buys
- Training Costs: The Largest Unknown
- Retakes and the Safety Threshold
- Four-Year Maintenance Costs
- Exam-Day Logistics That Affect Your Budget
- Verify Availability Before You Pay
- Building Your Own EVT Budget
- Cost Context: EVT vs. ASE L3
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ETA's Certification Catalog lists the EVT written exam at US$205; ETA Press lists US$200, so confirm the booking fee directly.
- Maintenance runs US$25 per year, US$100 over the four-year term, plus six continuing-education hours annually.
- Required ETA-approved EV school training is the biggest cost variable, and ETA publishes no single tuition figure.
- The exam has a 75% passing score, a separate 100% safety requirement, and a mandatory hands-on assessment.
The EVT Cost Picture at a Glance
When people search for the price of the Electric Vehicle Technician credential from ETA International, they usually expect one number. The reality is a stack of separate costs: the written examination fee, the hands-on assessment, the required training at an ETA-approved EV school, any retake, and the recurring maintenance fees that keep the credential active across its four-year term.
This guide separates the figures ETA has published from the ones it has not. Where a price is not stated in an official source, we say so rather than guess. If you are still orienting yourself, start with What Is EVT Certification? to confirm this is the credential you want, then return here to plan the money side.
| Cost Item | Published Figure | Source Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Written exam fee | US$205 (catalog) or US$200 (ETA Press) | Two ETA-linked sources disagree; confirm before booking |
| Annual maintenance fee | US$25 per year | US$100 over the four-year certification term |
| Continuing education | Six contact hours per year | 24 hours across four years; course pricing varies by provider |
| Retake | One free retake per ETA Press listing | After a 30-day wait, within one year of the first exam |
| Approved EV school training | Not published by ETA | Set by each approved school |
| Hands-on assessment fee | Not separately itemized in sources reviewed | Administered by ETA-approved schools; ask the school |
The Exam Fee: US$205 vs. US$200
ETA's currently linked Certification Catalog (printed page 17, undated cover) lists the Electric Vehicle Technician written examination at US$205. Separately, ETA Press's own EVT product listing gives US$200. A five-dollar gap is small, but it signals that at least one document is out of date or describes a different purchase channel.
The catalog describes the written exam as 100 questions in two hours with a 75% passing score. For a deeper look at how the scoring thresholds work, see EVT Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
What the Exam Fee Actually Buys
The published fee corresponds to the written examination. That matters because the credential has two required pieces: a written exam and a mandatory hands-on assessment. The catalog's two-hour allowance applies to the written test only; it does not describe the practical assessment.
The Written Component
Written testing is proctored by an ETA Certification Administrator, either through Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil. Trapeza scores are available immediately, which is useful if you are managing the cost of a potential retake. You will need photo identification. Scratch paper and a non-programmable scientific calculator are permitted, but used scratch paper must be surrendered and phones are prohibited.
The Hands-On Component
ETA-approved schools administer the required written and hands-on components. Because the hands-on assessment happens at a school, any fee tied to it is likely bundled into course tuition or priced separately by the school. ETA's published materials we reviewed do not itemize a standalone hands-on fee, so ask any prospective school exactly what its quote includes.
Training Costs: The Largest Unknown
The stand-alone EVT pathway does not require CETa as a prerequisite, but it does require specialized knowledge and hands-on training through an ETA-approved EV school. ETA's issued Electric Vehicle Technician badge also lists practicing-technician experience, successful written and hands-on examinations, and acceptance of the Code of Conduct. It does not state a minimum experience duration. For the full eligibility picture, read EVT Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Because training is delivered by approved schools, tuition is set school by school. ETA does not publish a universal course price, and we will not invent one. Variables that typically move the total include:
- Program length and format: how many contact hours the school builds around the ten competency categories.
- Lab access: hands-on work with high-voltage battery packs, motors, and charging equipment requires facilities and instructor time.
- Bundling: some schools may package the written exam, hands-on assessment, and materials into one price; others itemize everything.
- Travel and lodging: if the nearest approved school is not local, these can rival tuition.
- Employer sponsorship: many technicians are practicing in the field, and an employer may cover part or all of the training.
For a broader look at preparing through coursework, see EVT Training.
Retakes and the Safety Threshold
Retake policy is the second major place where cost can swing. ETA Press's EVT listing states that one free retake is available after a 30-day wait, within one year of the first examination. That is meaningful: if accurate and still current, a first-attempt miss does not automatically double your exam spend. But because the catalog and ETA Press already disagree on the base fee, confirm the retake conditions with ETA before you rely on them.
Key Takeaway
The safety portion carries a separate 100% passing requirement in the catalog. A candidate can clear the 75% threshold overall and still need to retake because of the safety criterion. This is a passing rule, not a domain weight, so it protects your budget to treat Safety Requirements as non-negotiable material from day one.
Domain 1, Safety Requirements, is where a retake is most avoidable. High-voltage safety, personal protective equipment, de-energizing procedures, and lockout practices are exactly the type of content where a single missed concept can cost you the attempt. Our EVT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas breaks down what each category expects, and How Hard Is the EVT Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 explains where candidates tend to struggle. We do not cite a pass rate here because no verified figure is available; see EVT Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for what can and cannot be said.
Four-Year Maintenance Costs
The certification term is four years. Maintaining the Electric Vehicle Technician credential with hands-on requirements involves ongoing cost and effort, per ETA's maintenance page.
| Maintenance Requirement | Annual | Four-Year Total |
|---|---|---|
| Maintenance fee | US$25 | US$100 |
| Continuing-education contact hours | 6 hours | 24 hours |
| Employer Verification Form | Completed by your supervisor | |
| Certification Maintenance Form | Submitted as part of maintenance | |
The fee itself is modest. The hidden cost is the 24 continuing-education hours: if your employer does not provide qualifying training, you may pay for courses, webinars, or workshops. Because the Employer Verification Form must be completed by a supervisor, it also helps to have an employer who understands the process. Keep records of every contact hour as you earn it instead of reconstructing them at renewal time.
Exam-Day Logistics That Affect Your Budget
Several small logistics can quietly add cost or force a reschedule:
- Photo ID: arriving without acceptable identification can cost you the sitting.
- Calculator: bring a non-programmable scientific calculator you are comfortable using. Electrical theory and battery questions often involve Ohm's law, power, and energy calculations.
- Phones: they are prohibited, so plan to leave yours out of reach.
- Scratch paper: you may use it, but you must surrender it afterward.
- Delivery mode: Trapeza online or paper and pencil, both proctored by an ETA Certification Administrator.
For scheduling realities and testing windows, see EVT Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Verify Availability Before You Pay
This is the most important cost-protection step in this article. EVT still appears in ETA's live Certification Catalog, in the ETA Course Approval Application, and in the ETA Master Technician (CETma) Matrix revised May 6, 2026, with no retirement marker. However, ETA's current renewable-energy index omits EVT. Those listings do not establish that an EVT course or examination is bookable today.
Also note that the exam's competency document carries a revision date of September 20, 2012, copyright 2013. It should not be read as a 2026 syllabus revision. Ask your school which reference materials and code editions its course uses, since older NFPA/NEC reading editions may appear in the competency listings.
Building Your Own EVT Budget
Because ETA does not publish an all-in price, the most accurate approach is to build the budget line by line with quotes in hand. Use the ten competency categories as a checklist when evaluating whether a school's program is worth its tuition.
Ask Schools How They Cover the Ten Categories
A program worth paying for should address all of these areas with hands-on time where relevant:
- Safety Requirements and Electric Vehicle Fundamentals
- Electrical Theory and Electronic Systems Components
- Motor Theory and EV Electronics and Testing Fundamentals
- Batteries and Energy Delivery Systems
- Charging and BEV Maintenance and Troubleshooting
One short note on pacing, tied to cost: since a retake means extra time and possibly extra fees, front-load your effort where mistakes are most expensive. Spend your first study week on Safety Requirements, because of the 100% safety criterion, then build upward through Electrical Theory before tackling Batteries and Charging, which depend on those fundamentals. Our EVT Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt maps this out in detail, and the EVT Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is a useful final-week review. You can also test yourself on the EVT practice test site before committing to an exam date, which helps you avoid booking before you are ready.
Sample Budget Worksheet
- Written exam fee: US$205 (catalog) or US$200 (ETA Press), confirmed at booking
- Approved school tuition and hands-on assessment: get a written quote
- Study materials and practice resources: variable
- Travel and lodging for hands-on components: variable
- Contingency for a possible retake if the free-retake terms do not apply
- Maintenance: US$100 across four years, plus continuing-education costs for 24 hours
Weighing the Return
Whether the total is worth it depends on your situation and your local market. Occupational earnings for EV technicians are not the same as a verified EVT-specific pay premium, and no such premium is established here. Read Is the EVT Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and the EVT Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis before deciding, and browse EVT Jobs to see the kinds of roles that value this credential.
Cost Context: EVT vs. ASE L3
Many technicians weigh ETA's Electric Vehicle Technician credential against ASE L3, the Light Duty Hybrid/Electric Vehicle Specialist test from the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence. They are separate credentials with different eligibility and scope. We do not quote ASE pricing here; check the official ASE L3 test page for current fees and prerequisites, then compare against the EVT figures above. The meaningful differences are structural: EVT requires approved-school training and a hands-on assessment, while the two programs come from different bodies with different renewal rules. Compare total cost of ownership, including training and maintenance, rather than the exam fee alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
ETA's Certification Catalog lists US$205 for the written examination, while ETA Press lists US$200. Because the sources conflict, confirm the current booking fee with ETA or your approved school before paying.
ETA Press states one free retake is available after a 30-day wait, within one year of the first examination. Confirm this with ETA, since the catalog does not restate it and the two sources already differ on the base fee.
Maintenance with hands-on requires US$25 per year, totaling US$100 over the four-year term, plus six continuing-education contact hours per year (24 total), an Employer Verification Form, and the Certification Maintenance Form.
No. The published fee corresponds to the written examination. Training through an ETA-approved EV school is required separately, and ETA does not publish a single tuition figure, so request written quotes from schools.
Not based on ETA's published information. Remote proctoring is described for non-hands-on certifications, and EVT requires a mandatory hands-on assessment administered through ETA-approved schools.
For a quick refresher on the basics before you invest, see What Is EVT? and EVT Certification, and try the free practice questions to gauge your readiness before booking.