- What EVT Means Here (and What It Doesn't)
- Who Runs the Credential
- The Ten Categories of Knowledge
- Exam Format and Passing Rules
- Training and Eligibility Path
- Fees, Retakes and a Source Conflict
- Availability: What to Verify Before Booking
- EVT vs. ASE L3
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Where the Credential Fits in the Job Market
- A Domain-Ordered Prep Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- EVT here means Electric Vehicle Technician, ETA International's credential for battery-electric-vehicle maintenance, service and troubleshooting.
- ETA's catalog lists 100 questions, two hours, a 75% passing score, and a separate 100% requirement on safety.
- A mandatory hands-on assessment is required; the written exam alone does not earn the credential.
- Fee sources conflict (US$205 versus US$200), so confirm the current booking fee and retake terms with ETA.
What EVT Means Here (and What It Doesn't)
On this site, EVT stands for Electric Vehicle Technician. It is a stand-alone credential from ETA International aimed at people who maintain, service and troubleshoot battery-electric vehicles (BEVs). The acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials in other fields, and nothing about those credentials applies here. If you searched for the abbreviation and landed on an article about a different certification, treat that content as a separate topic entirely.
If you want the wording variations covered in more detail, see our explainers on what EVT stands for and what EVT certification is. This article is the broader orientation: who issues the credential, what it tests, how the exam is built, and what to confirm before you spend money.
Who Runs the Credential
The governing body is ETA International (Electronics Technicians Association, International), a certification organization best known for electronics, fiber, wireless and renewable-energy credentials. The EVT is ETA's stand-alone pathway for BEV work. Notably, CETa is not a prerequisite for this stand-alone route, so you do not have to earn an entry-level electronics associate credential first.
What ETA does expect is specialized knowledge and hands-on training delivered through an ETA-approved EV school. ETA's issued Electric Vehicle Technician badge also lists practicing-technician experience, successful written and hands-on examinations, and acceptance of the ETA Code of Conduct. The badge does not state a minimum number of years or hours of experience, so avoid any claim that a specific duration is required. Our EVT requirements guide goes deeper on eligibility.
The Ten Categories of Knowledge
ETA publishes the EVT competency requirements as ten categories of knowledge. ETA states that examination questions derive from the respective competencies. The published document (revision date September 20, 2012, copyright 2013) does not give percentage weights, so no one can honestly tell you that a given domain is "20% of the exam." Treat the list as a coverage map, not a weighting chart.
Domain 1: Safety Requirements
The gatekeeper domain. High-voltage hazards, protective practices and safe work procedures underpin everything else, and ETA applies a separate pass threshold to the safety portion.
- High-voltage awareness and safe-work habits
- Why safety is scored independently of the general written score
Domains 2 and 3: Electric Vehicle Fundamentals and Electrical Theory
The vocabulary and physics layer: how BEVs are architected and the electrical principles behind them.
- BEV system layout and how the major subsystems relate
- Voltage, current, resistance, power and circuit behavior you will need to reason through in diagnostics
Domains 4 and 5: Electronic Systems Components and Motor Theory
Component-level and propulsion knowledge: what the parts do and how the traction motor turns electrical energy into motion.
- Identifying electronic components and their roles in vehicle systems
- Motor operating principles relevant to electric drive
Domain 6: EV Electronics and Testing Fundamentals
Where theory meets the meter. Expect questions about measurement, test methods and interpreting results.
- Using test equipment correctly and safely
- Reading measurements to draw diagnostic conclusions
Domains 7, 8 and 9: Batteries, Energy Delivery Systems and Charging
The energy chain from storage to delivery to replenishment, and the heart of battery and power-electronics diagnostics.
- Battery fundamentals and behavior
- How energy moves through the vehicle's delivery systems
- Charging concepts and equipment
Domain 10: BEV Maintenance and Troubleshooting
The applied capstone. This is where the other nine domains combine into service procedures and fault-finding logic.
- Routine BEV maintenance practices
- Systematic troubleshooting from symptom to cause
For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, read our complete guide to all 10 EVT content areas. To test yourself against these categories, the EVT practice tests map original questions to all ten.
Exam Format and Passing Rules
ETA's currently linked Certification Catalog (undated cover, printed page 17) gives the written-examination figures below.
| Element | Catalog Figure |
|---|---|
| Written questions | 100 |
| Time allowed (written) | Two hours |
| Passing score | 75% |
| Safety portion | Separate 100% passing requirement |
| Hands-on assessment | Mandatory |
| Certification term | Four years |
Historical counts you should not mix in
An older ETA program update (December 5, 2012) described 75 knowledge questions, 30 separate safety questions and 46 practical tasks. Those are historical figures. Do not combine them with the catalog's 100-question number, and do not treat 46 tasks as a verified current practical-assessment count. If a third-party site quotes a blended number, it is probably mixing eras.
Test-day mechanics
- Proctoring: an ETA Certification Administrator proctors written testing, via Trapeza online testing or paper and pencil.
- Hands-on delivery: ETA-approved schools administer the required written and hands-on components.
- Identification: photo ID is required.
- Allowed items: scratch paper and a non-programmable scientific calculator; used scratch paper must be surrendered.
- Prohibited: phones.
- Results: Trapeza scores are available immediately.
ETA's remote-proctoring page describes a service for non-hands-on certifications. It does not establish a fully remote EVT pathway, so do not plan on taking the entire credential from home. For a sense of how demanding the exam feels, see how hard the EVT exam is; ETA does not publish a pass rate in the sources we reviewed, which our EVT pass rate article addresses honestly.
Training and Eligibility Path
The practical route runs through an ETA-approved EV school. Those schools both teach the material and administer the written and hands-on components, which is why training and testing are tightly linked for this credential. Candidates typically bring some combination of existing technician experience and structured EV coursework; the badge language references practicing-technician experience but gives no minimum duration.
If you are weighing programs, our EVT training overview covers what to look for. Because training and assessment are bundled through approved schools, your first practical question is not "when is the exam?" but "which approved school near me currently offers the course and assessment?"
Fees, Retakes and a Source Conflict
Two ETA-related sources disagree, and we are keeping that conflict visible rather than picking a winner.
| Source | Fee | Retake Terms |
|---|---|---|
| ETA Certification Catalog | US$205 | Not stated in the figures we reviewed |
| ETA Press EVT listing | US$200 | One free retake after a 30-day wait, within one year of the first exam |
Availability: What to Verify Before Booking
EVT remains listed in ETA's live catalog, in the ETA Course Approval Application pathway, and in the ETA Master Technician (CETma) Matrix revised May 6, 2026, with no retirement marker. However, ETA's current renewable-energy index omits EVT. Taken together, these listings do not prove that an EVT course or examination is bookable right now.
The sensible approach: treat the credential as listed but unconfirmed for scheduling. Contact ETA or a nearby approved school, ask whether an EVT course and assessment are currently offered, and get dates in writing. Our EVT exam dates guide explains why we avoid promising fixed testing windows.
EVT vs. ASE L3
ASE L3 (Light Duty Hybrid/Electric Vehicle Specialist) is a separate credential from a different organization, the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence. It is not the same thing as the ETA EVT, and the two differ in issuer, eligibility rules and scope. Before choosing, compare ASE's own L3 test page against ETA's EVT materials rather than assuming one substitutes for the other. Some technicians pursue both, but that is a personal career decision, not an ETA requirement.
Key Takeaway
Pick based on what your employer or target role asks for. If a job posting names ASE L3, the ETA EVT is not an automatic stand-in, and vice versa. Ask the hiring shop which credential it values.
Keeping the Credential Active
The certification term is four years. Per ETA's maintenance page, Maintenance with Hands-On involves:
- Six continuing-education contact hours per year, totaling 24 over four years
- A supervisor-completed Employer Verification Form
- The Certification Maintenance Form
- US$25 per year, totaling US$100 over the four-year cycle
Plan the paperwork early, since the employer verification depends on someone else's signature. Details on renewal logistics are collected across our certification articles, starting with the main EVT certification overview.
Where the Credential Fits in the Job Market
The EVT targets technicians doing BEV maintenance, service and troubleshooting, so the natural audience is independent repair shops, fleet maintenance operations and dealership or service-center technicians who work on battery-electric vehicles. We will not quote an EVT-specific pay premium, because the sources we reviewed do not establish one. Occupational earnings for EV technicians are a separate question from whether this particular credential raises your pay, and our EVT salary guide keeps those two ideas apart. For a decision framework, see whether the EVT certification is worth it, and browse EVT jobs for role types.
A Domain-Ordered Prep Sequence
Generic study habits matter less than sequencing the ten domains sensibly. Here is one way to order them, with the reasoning built in.
Safety first, then fundamentals
- Domain 1 (Safety Requirements): schedule it first because it carries its own 100% threshold
- Domain 2 (Electric Vehicle Fundamentals): build the vocabulary everything else uses
Theory and components
- Domain 3 (Electrical Theory) before Domain 4 (Electronic Systems Components)
- Domain 5 (Motor Theory) while circuit concepts are fresh
Testing and the energy chain
- Domain 6 (EV Electronics and Testing Fundamentals)
- Domains 7, 8 and 9: Batteries, Energy Delivery Systems, Charging, studied together as one chain
Apply and revisit
- Domain 10 (BEV Maintenance and Troubleshooting) as the integrating capstone
- Re-drill Domain 1 and your weakest area, and rehearse hands-on tasks with your school
Because the hands-on assessment is mandatory, pair written review with practical time on the bench. Our EVT study guide expands this plan, and the EVT cheat sheet compresses the must-know facts for last-minute review. When you are ready to check your readiness, take a set from the EVT practice test library.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Electric Vehicle Technician, ETA International's stand-alone credential for battery-electric-vehicle maintenance, service and troubleshooting. It is unrelated to other credentials that share the acronym.
ETA's catalog lists a 75% passing score on a 100-question, two-hour written exam, plus a separate 100% requirement on the safety portion. A mandatory hands-on assessment is also part of earning the credential.
No. CETa is not a prerequisite for the stand-alone EVT pathway. You do need specialized knowledge and hands-on training through an ETA-approved EV school.
ETA's catalog lists US$205, while ETA Press lists US$200 with one free retake after a 30-day wait within one year. Because the sources conflict, confirm the current fee and retake terms with ETA before booking.
Not as far as ETA's published materials establish. Its remote-proctoring service is described for non-hands-on certifications, and the EVT requires a hands-on assessment administered through approved schools.
The term is four years. Maintenance with Hands-On requires six continuing-education hours per year, an employer verification form, a maintenance form, and US$25 per year.