EVT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is EVT Certification?

TL;DR
  • EVT is ETA International's stand-alone Electric Vehicle Technician credential for battery-electric-vehicle maintenance, service and troubleshooting.
  • ETA's catalog lists 100 questions, two hours and a 75% pass mark, plus a separate 100% requirement on safety.
  • A hands-on assessment is mandatory; the written exam alone does not earn the credential.
  • Fee sources conflict (US$205 vs US$200), so confirm current booking fees and retake terms with ETA.

What the EVT Credential Actually Is

EVT stands for Electric Vehicle Technician. It is a certification from ETA International aimed at technicians who maintain, service and troubleshoot battery-electric vehicles (BEVs). The scope is deliberately narrow: this is not a general automotive credential, and it is not a hybrid-focused one. It targets the high-voltage battery, power electronics, motor, charging and energy-delivery systems that distinguish a BEV from a conventional car.

If you have seen the acronym elsewhere, be careful. Several unrelated credentials share the letters "EVT." Everything on this page refers only to the ETA Electric Vehicle Technician credential. For a quick orientation on the terminology itself, see our explainers on what EVT stands for and EVT meaning.

What makes the credential distinctive is that it pairs knowledge with demonstrated skill. Candidates are expected to pass a written examination and a hands-on assessment, and they must accept ETA's Code of Conduct. ETA's issued Electric Vehicle Technician badge also lists practicing-technician experience among its criteria, although it does not state a minimum duration.

Who Issues It and How It Fits ETA's Lineup

ETA International (the Electronics Technicians Association, International) is a long-standing certifying body for electronics, renewable energy and related technician fields. EVT sits within ETA's catalog of technician credentials and is referenced in ETA's Master Technician (CETma) matrix, which was revised May 6, 2026 and shows no retirement marker for EVT.

One point worth stating plainly: the stand-alone EVT pathway does not require CETa (ETA's Certified Electronics Technician associate credential) as a prerequisite. You do not need to collect an entry-level electronics certification first. That makes EVT more approachable for working automotive technicians who have strong vehicle experience but no formal electronics credential.

Eligibility and Training Pathway

ETA's requirement is specialized knowledge and hands-on training delivered through an ETA-approved EV school. In practice, your route into the exam runs through approved training rather than through self-study alone. ETA-approved schools administer the required written and hands-on components, so the school you choose largely determines how and where you test.

A few specifics to keep straight:

  • The training must come from an ETA-approved EV program, not just any EV course.
  • The badge criteria mention practicing-technician experience, but no minimum number of years is published.
  • You must accept ETA's Code of Conduct.
  • Both the written and hands-on portions must be completed successfully.

For a fuller breakdown of who qualifies and how, read our guide to EVT requirements and eligibility, and our overview of EVT training.

The Exam Format: Written, Safety and Hands-On

According to ETA's Certification Catalog, the written examination consists of 100 questions in two hours, with a 75% passing score. Separately, the safety portion carries its own requirement: candidates must score 100% on safety questions. That safety threshold is a pass criterion, not a domain weighting, so a candidate who aces everything else but misses a safety item still has not met the standard.

Don't confuse the two-hour limit with the whole exam: The two-hour allowance applies to the written test only. The hands-on assessment is mandatory and is a separate component, so budget additional time and preparation for it.

A Note on Historical Formats

You may find older ETA material describing a different structure: a December 2012 program update referenced 75 knowledge questions, 30 separate safety questions and 46 practical tasks. Those are historical figures. They should not be blended with the catalog's 100-question figure, and the 46-task number should not be treated as a verified current practical count. When in doubt, treat the current catalog and your approved school as the authority.

ElementCurrent catalog figureNotes
Written questions100Two-hour allowance
General passing score75%Applies to the written exam
Safety portion100% requiredSeparate pass criterion, not a weight
Hands-on assessmentMandatoryTask count not verified as current
Certification termFour yearsMaintenance required

To dig into scoring mechanics, see EVT passing score: exactly what you need to pass, and for a sense of difficulty, how hard the EVT exam is.

The Ten Categories of Knowledge

ETA's Electric Vehicle Technician competency requirements document (revision September 20, 2012, copyright 2013) lays out ten categories of knowledge. ETA states that examination questions derive from these competencies. Importantly, no percentage weights are published in that document, so any claim about how many questions come from each category would be invention. The document's age also matters: it should not be presented as a 2026 syllabus revision, and the older NFPA/NEC editions it references should not be read as current standards.

The ten categories are:

1. Safety Requirements

High-voltage hazard awareness is the foundation. Because the safety portion demands 100%, this is the category with zero margin for error.

  • Personal protective equipment and insulated tooling
  • De-energizing and verifying a vehicle before service
  • Recognizing and responding to high-voltage and battery hazards

2. Electric Vehicle Fundamentals

How a BEV is architected and how its major systems relate to one another.

3. Electrical Theory

The circuit principles that underpin everything else.

  • Voltage, current, resistance and power relationships
  • Series and parallel circuit behavior
  • AC versus DC concepts

4. Electronic Systems Components

The components that make up control and power circuitry and how they behave.

5. Motor Theory

How electric traction motors convert electrical energy into motion, and what that implies for diagnosis.

6. EV Electronics and Testing Fundamentals

Measurement practice and test equipment use, which feeds directly into the hands-on assessment.

7. Batteries

Battery construction, characteristics, state-of-charge concepts and safe handling.

8. Energy Delivery Systems

How power moves from the pack to the motor and accessories, including the power electronics involved.

9. Charging

Onboard charging, external charging equipment and the safety considerations around connecting a vehicle to a supply.

10. BEV Maintenance and Troubleshooting

Applying everything above to real service work: structured diagnosis, interpreting symptoms and verifying repairs.

For a deeper treatment of each area, see our complete guide to all 10 EVT content areas.

Fees and the Conflicting Numbers

Two ETA sources disagree on price, and a responsible summary keeps that conflict visible rather than smoothing it over:

SourceListed feeRetake information
ETA Certification Catalog (printed page 17, undated cover)US$205Not specified in the figures used here
ETA Press EVT listingUS$200One free retake after a 30-day wait, within one year of the first exam

Because these sources differ, confirm the current booking fee and retake conditions directly with ETA or your approved school before paying. Also remember that training through an approved EV school is a separate cost from the exam fee. Our EVT certification cost breakdown walks through what to budget for.

Test-Day Rules and Scoring

Written testing is proctored by an ETA Certification Administrator, delivered either through Trapeza online testing or on paper and pencil. Practical points to know:

  • Photo identification is required.
  • Scratch paper and a non-programmable scientific calculator are permitted; used scratch paper must be surrendered.
  • Phones are prohibited.
  • Trapeza scores are available immediately.

ETA's remote-proctoring service is described for non-hands-on certifications. Since EVT requires a hands-on component, that page does not establish a fully remote EVT pathway. Plan for an in-person element administered through an approved school or test site.

Key Takeaway

Practice with a non-programmable scientific calculator well before exam day. Electrical-theory and battery questions often involve Ohm's-law and power relationships, and fumbling with an unfamiliar calculator burns time you can't recover in a two-hour window.

Keeping the Credential Active

The certification term is four years. ETA's "Maintenance with Hands-On" route requires:

  • Six continuing-education contact hours per year, totaling 24 over the four-year cycle
  • A supervisor-completed Employer Verification Form
  • The Certification Maintenance Form
  • US$25 per year, totaling US$100 over the four years

That employer verification step is a reminder that the credential assumes you are actively working in the field, not holding a certificate as a trophy.

EVT vs ASE L3

ASE's Light Duty Hybrid/Electric Vehicle Specialist (L3) is a separate credential from a different certifying body. The two are not interchangeable, and one does not satisfy the other. When comparing, check eligibility rules and scope for each directly: EVT is ETA's BEV-focused credential with a mandatory hands-on assessment and an approved-school training requirement, while ASE L3's details are published on ASE's own test page. Your choice may depend on what local employers recognize, so it is worth asking the shops you want to work for which credential they value.

Availability: Check Before You Commit

This is the caveat most prospective candidates overlook. EVT remains listed in ETA's live catalog, in the ETA Course Approval Application, and in the May 2026 CETma matrix, with no retirement marker. However, ETA's current renewable-energy index omits EVT, and none of these listings proves that a bookable EVT course or exam is available right now.

Verify first: Before building a study plan or paying for anything, contact ETA or a prospective approved school and confirm that an EVT course and assessment are currently being offered in your region. Listings in a catalog are not the same as open seats.

Questions about test windows are covered in EVT exam dates and scheduling, and job-market context is in EVT jobs.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

Rather than a generic study calendar, order your work by how the domains depend on each other. Electrical theory underlies nearly everything, and safety carries a 100% bar, so both come early.

Week 1

Safety Requirements and Electrical Theory

  • Memorize hazard-response and de-energizing procedures until they are automatic
  • Rebuild Ohm's-law and power fluency without a crutch
Week 2

Fundamentals, Components and Motor Theory

  • Map the BEV architecture end to end
  • Connect component behavior to traction-motor operation
Week 3

Testing, Batteries and Energy Delivery

  • Practice measurement technique, since it feeds the hands-on assessment
  • Study battery characteristics and power-electronics pathways together
Week 4

Charging, Troubleshooting and Full Practice

  • Tie charging concepts to diagnostic reasoning
  • Run timed practice sets covering all ten categories

For a consolidated plan, see our EVT study guide and the quick-reference EVT cheat sheet. When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, try the EVT practice tests.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does EVT certification mean?

It refers to ETA International's Electric Vehicle Technician credential, which covers maintenance, service and troubleshooting of battery-electric vehicles. It requires a written exam, a mandatory hands-on assessment and acceptance of ETA's Code of Conduct. See what is EVT for more.

Do I need CETa before taking the EVT?

No. CETa is not a prerequisite for the stand-alone EVT pathway. You do need specialized knowledge and hands-on training through an ETA-approved EV school.

What score do I need to pass?

ETA's catalog lists a 75% passing score on the 100-question, two-hour written exam, plus a separate 100% requirement on the safety portion. The hands-on assessment is also mandatory. Details are in EVT passing score.

How much does the exam cost?

ETA's catalog lists US$205, while ETA Press lists US$200 with one free retake after a 30-day wait within one year. Because the sources conflict, confirm the current fee and retake terms with ETA before booking.

How long does the certification last?

Four years. Maintenance requires six continuing-education hours per year (24 total), an employer verification form, a maintenance form and US$25 per year (US$100 over the cycle).

Ready to pass your EVT exam?

Put this into practice with free EVT questions across every exam domain.