- The Short Answer: What an EVT Actually Is
- Who Issues the Credential
- What an Electric Vehicle Technician Does
- The Ten Categories of Knowledge
- How the Exam Works
- Cost, Fees and a Source Conflict You Should Know About
- Eligibility and Training Route
- Keeping the Credential Active
- EVT vs. ASE L3
- Availability: Verify Before You Plan
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- EVT here means ETA International's Electric Vehicle Technician credential for battery-electric-vehicle maintenance, service and troubleshooting.
- The catalog lists 100 questions, two hours, a 75% pass mark, and a separate 100% requirement on safety.
- A mandatory hands-on assessment sits alongside the written exam, and certification runs four years.
- ETA's own sources disagree on fee (US$205 vs. US$200); confirm the current figure before booking.
The Short Answer: What an EVT Actually Is
In the context of this site, an EVT is an Electric Vehicle Technician: a technician credentialed to maintain, service and troubleshoot battery-electric vehicles (BEVs). It is a stand-alone certification, meaning you do not need to hold ETA's entry-level CETa credential first. The title can also describe a job role, but when people search "What is a EVT?" alongside exam content, they are usually asking about the certification itself, which is what this article covers.
If you are comparing this to the broader family of explainer pages on the site, see What Is EVT?, What Does EVT Stand For? and the more detailed What Is EVT Certification?. This piece focuses on what the credential contains, how it is tested, and what you should confirm before committing money or time.
Who Issues the Credential
The Electric Vehicle Technician certification is governed and administered by ETA International (Electronics Technicians Association, International). ETA is a long-standing certifying body for electronics and related technician disciplines, and its program structure matters for EVT candidates in a practical way: written testing is proctored by an ETA Certification Administrator, and approved schools administer both the written and hands-on components.
That structure explains something newcomers often find surprising. You do not simply buy an exam seat from a testing vendor and walk in cold. The credential is built around specialized knowledge and hands-on training through an ETA-approved EV school, and the practical assessment is mandatory. For a deeper look at the qualification path, read EVT Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
What an Electric Vehicle Technician Does
The scope of this credential is battery-electric-vehicle maintenance, service and troubleshooting. That framing is narrower than "anything with a plug." In practice, a technician working at this level is expected to:
- Follow high-voltage safety procedures before touching any energized system
- Read and interpret electrical and electronic measurements with confidence, including diagnosing faults rather than just replacing parts
- Understand how traction motors, power electronics and batteries interact
- Service and troubleshoot charging hardware and the energy delivery path between charger, battery and motor
- Carry out scheduled BEV maintenance and isolate faults methodically
Employers that tend to value this kind of credential include dealership service departments handling BEV lines, independent shops expanding into EV work, fleet maintenance operations running electric vehicles, and organizations that install or service charging infrastructure. For a closer look at roles and employers, see EVT Jobs.
The Ten Categories of Knowledge
ETA's competency document for the EVT organizes the body of knowledge into ten categories. ETA states that examination questions derive from the respective competencies. Note that the competency document does not publish percentage weights, so any article claiming exact domain percentages is guessing. Also keep in mind that the competency document carries a September 20, 2012 revision date, and its references to NFPA and NEC editions are historical; do not treat it as a 2026 syllabus revision.
Domain 1: Safety Requirements
The foundation of everything else, and the area with a dedicated pass requirement (see the exam section below).
- High-voltage hazards and protective practices
- Safe work procedures before, during and after service
- Personal protective equipment and lockout concepts
Domain 2: Electric Vehicle Fundamentals
The big-picture architecture of a battery-electric vehicle and how its major systems relate.
Domain 3: Electrical Theory
The core theory that underpins every diagnostic decision: voltage, current, resistance, power and how they behave in circuits.
Domain 4: Electronic Systems Components
The building blocks found in vehicle electronics and how each behaves in a circuit.
Domain 5: Motor Theory
How electric traction motors convert electrical energy to motion, and what that implies for diagnosis and service.
Domain 6: EV Electronics and Testing Fundamentals
Measurement technique and test equipment, plus the electronics specific to EV systems. This is where theory turns into hands-on diagnostics.
Domain 7: Batteries
Battery fundamentals as they apply to traction packs: behavior, characteristics and handling.
Domain 8: Energy Delivery Systems
How energy moves from the pack to where it is needed, including the power-electronics path.
Domain 9: Charging
Charging concepts, equipment and the interface between the vehicle and the supply.
Domain 10: BEV Maintenance and Troubleshooting
Applying everything in a service context: routine maintenance and structured fault-finding on battery-electric vehicles.
For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see EVT Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas. If you want a fast refresher once you have studied, the EVT Cheat Sheet condenses the must-know facts.
How the Exam Works
The written portion and the hands-on portion are separate parts of earning the credential. Here is how the currently linked ETA Certification Catalog (undated cover, printed page 17) describes the written exam:
| Element | Catalog Figure |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Time allowed | Two hours |
| Overall passing score | 75% |
| Safety portion | Separate 100% passing requirement |
| Hands-on assessment | Mandatory |
| Certification term | Four years |
The written exam versus the practical
The two-hour allowance describes the written exam only. It does not describe the practical assessment, and you should not assume the practical shares that time limit. ETA's older program announcement (December 5, 2012) described 75 knowledge questions, 30 separate safety questions and 46 practical tasks. Those are historical figures from a different era of the program. They should not be blended with the catalog's 100-question figure, and the 46-task count should not be treated as a verified current practical count.
Test-day logistics
- Written testing is proctored by an ETA Certification Administrator, either through Trapeza online testing or on paper and pencil.
- Photo identification is required.
- Scratch paper and a non-programmable scientific calculator are permitted. Used scratch paper must be surrendered.
- Phones are prohibited.
- Trapeza scores are available immediately.
ETA's remote-proctoring page describes a service for non-hands-on certifications. It does not establish a fully remote EVT pathway, because the hands-on assessment is mandatory. Expect an in-person practical component. To gauge how demanding the whole package is, read How Hard Is the EVT Exam?, and for what is known about outcomes, EVT Pass Rate: What the Data Shows.
Cost, Fees and a Source Conflict You Should Know About
Here is where careful candidates should slow down, because ETA's own published sources do not agree.
| Source | Fee Stated | Retake Information |
|---|---|---|
| ETA Certification Catalog (printed page 17) | US$205 | Not stated in the figures we retain |
| ETA Press EVT listing | US$200 | One free retake after a 30-day wait, within one year of the first examination |
We retain this conflict rather than picking a winner. The difference may reflect different editions, bundles or timing, but the sources do not say. Before you pay, confirm the current booking fee and retake conditions directly with ETA. Remember also that training through an approved school is a separate cost from the exam fee. A full breakdown lives in EVT Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Eligibility and Training Route
For the stand-alone pathway, CETa is not a prerequisite. What is required is specialized knowledge and hands-on training through an ETA-approved EV school. ETA's issued Electric Vehicle Technician badge on Credly adds further detail: it lists practicing-technician experience, successful written and hands-on examinations, and acceptance of the Code of Conduct. Importantly, the badge page does not state a minimum number of years or hours of experience, so you should not assume a specific duration.
Key Takeaway
Do not plan around a made-up experience threshold. The documented requirements are approved EV training, passing both written and hands-on assessments, and accepting the Code of Conduct. If you need certainty about your specific situation, ask ETA or your chosen school directly.
For related background on training options, see EVT Training.
Keeping the Credential Active
The certification term is four years. To maintain the Electric Vehicle Technician credential on the hands-on track, ETA's maintenance page lists:
- Six continuing-education contact hours per year, totaling 24 over the four-year term
- A supervisor-completed Employer Verification Form
- The Certification Maintenance Form
- US$25 per year, totaling US$100 over the four-year cycle
Building these hours into your routine from year one is far easier than scrambling in year four. Employers that value the credential often help document the supervisor-verification step, so raise it early with your manager.
EVT vs. ASE L3
ASE L3 (Light Duty Hybrid/Electric Vehicle Specialist) is a separate credential from a different organization, the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence. It is not interchangeable with ETA's EVT, and the two differ in eligibility rules and scope. Rather than assert comparisons we cannot verify, compare them directly using each body's published requirements: ASE's own L3 test page, and ETA's competency categories and catalog for the EVT.
| Question to Ask | ETA EVT | ASE L3 |
|---|---|---|
| Who administers it? | ETA International | National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence |
| What is the stated scope? | Battery-electric-vehicle maintenance, service and troubleshooting | Light-duty hybrid/electric vehicle specialist knowledge (check ASE's page for exact scope) |
| Is a hands-on assessment part of it? | Yes, mandatory | Check ASE's L3 page for its current format |
| Where do I verify requirements? | etai.org catalog and competencies | ase.com L3 test page |
Some technicians pursue both over time, but whether that makes sense depends on your employer and the vehicles you service. If you are weighing the return on any credential, our Is the EVT Certification Worth It? analysis separates occupational earnings from any unverified EVT-specific pay premium, and the EVT Salary Guide does the same for pay.
Availability: Verify Before You Plan
This section matters if you are about to make financial decisions. The EVT remains listed in ETA's live certification catalog, in its linked Course Approval Application, and in the ETA Master Technician (CETma) Matrix revised May 6, 2026, without a retirement marker. However, ETA's current renewable-energy index omits it. Taken together, those listings do not establish that a bookable EVT course or exam is available right now.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
You do not need an elaborate study system; you need an order that follows how the material builds. A reasonable arrangement, tied directly to the ten categories:
Safety, then theory
- Start with Safety Requirements, because of the separate 100% requirement
- Move into Electrical Theory and Electronic Systems Components, since every later domain depends on them
Vehicle and motor foundations
- Electric Vehicle Fundamentals for the system-level picture
- Motor Theory and EV Electronics and Testing Fundamentals, ideally paired with real meter practice
Energy path
- Batteries, Energy Delivery Systems and Charging as one connected chain
Application and review
- BEV Maintenance and Troubleshooting, treating each fault as a reasoning exercise
- Revisit Safety one more time before test day
Practice questions that map to all ten categories are the most efficient way to find weak spots, and you can work through them on the EVT practice test. For a fuller plan, the EVT Study Guide goes deeper, and the main practice site lets you drill by topic.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Electric Vehicle Technician, ETA International's credential for battery-electric-vehicle maintenance, service and troubleshooting. See also What Does EVT Mean? for more on the terminology.
No. CETa is not a prerequisite for the stand-alone pathway. What is required is specialized knowledge and hands-on training through an ETA-approved EV school.
The ETA catalog lists a 75% passing score on the 100-question written exam, plus a separate 100% requirement on the safety portion. The hands-on assessment is mandatory as well.
ETA's catalog lists US$205, while ETA Press lists US$200 and mentions one free retake after a 30-day wait within one year. The sources conflict, so confirm the current fee and retake terms with ETA before booking.
The term is four years. Maintenance on the hands-on track calls for six continuing-education contact hours per year (24 total), an employer verification form, a maintenance form, and US$25 per year (US$100 over the cycle).